Reason for the recall
- The product presents a risk of electric shock due to poor internal build quality.
Reasonsee the original notice
BrandDayPlus
Batch number(s)not stated
Barcodenot stated
Product
- Summary
- Product: DayPlus Cordless Drill sold via Amazon
- Hazard: The product presents a risk of electric shock due to poor internal build quality.
- Corrective action: The import has been rejected at the border and destroyed.
- The listing has been removed by the online marketplace (Amazon).
- Product information
- Type
- Machinery - Drill/Drivers (Powered)
- Brand
- DayPlus
- ASIN
- B0GGBQB4XK
- Product carton identifiers
- ZSS.J, G8926-Z9418531203, GL-WZ-DRILL2-W-NEW-A, RVG8926-2511-0004-28, WZWFSZ2-11-15, RU1UK
- Country of Origin
- China
- Product Description
- A cordless drill with wall plug and accessories.
- Product Report and Image
- Link to Product Image and PDF
- Hazard
- The product presents a risk of electric shock as there is insufficient creepage and clearance distance between the mains potential input circuits and low voltage output circuits, and the insulation is insufficient. This could lead to the product becoming live. If the user touches a metal part of the casing while the item is on, they may receive an electric shock. Additionally, the plug does not meet the dimensional requirements of BS 1363.
- The product does not meet the requirements of the Supply of Machinery (Safety) Regulations 2008 or the Plugs and Sockets etc. (Safety) Regulations 1994.
- Corrective action
- The import has been rejected at the border and destroyed.
- The listing has been removed by the online marketplace (Amazon).
- Additional information
- PSD notification number: 2603-0001
- Notified by: Local Authority Trading Standards
What to do
- The import has been rejected at the border and destroyed.
- The listing has been removed by the online marketplace (Amazon).
- Product information
- Type
- Machinery - Drill/Drivers (Powered)
Source: Product Safety Alerts, Reports and Recalls (OPSS) — Office for Product Safety and Standards (OPSS)
Source: Office for Product Safety and Standards, GOV.UK. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. EU Safety Radar is an independent information service; the text above presents the official data in the original language — the notice published by the authority is authoritative.
Open the original notice (www.gov.uk) ↗ Official document (PDF) ↗