OPSS High Electrical appliances equipment
Product Safety Report: AIBOO Wall Lights sold via Amazon (2307-0138)
Published by Office for Product Safety and Standards (OPSS): · Ref. 2307-0138
Reason for the recall
- The product presents a high risk of electric shock and fire as the plug is noncompliant, and can wear the plug down over time causing overheating.
Reasonsee the original notice
BrandAIBOO
Batch number(s)not stated
Barcodenot stated
Product
AIBOO Wall Lights sold via Amazon
- Brand
- AIBOO
- Category
- Electrical appliances equipment
- Country of origin
- China
- Type of recall
- Product safety report
- Summary
- Product: AIBOO Wall Lights sold via Amazon
- Hazard: The product presents a high risk of electric shock and fire as the plug is noncompliant, and can wear the plug down over time causing overheating.
- Corrective action: The listing has been removed by the online marketplace (Amazon).
- Product information
- Type
- Electrical appliances and equipment - Wall Lights
- Brand
- AIBOO
- AC Adapter Model Number
- RS-AB015J00-B
- ASIN
- B01LWWV58L
- Country of Origin
- China
- Product Description
- LED wall lights packaged in a light green cardboard box.
- Product Report and Image
- Link to Product Image and PDF
- Hazard
- The product presents a high risk of electric shock and fire as the plug is noncompliant with the requirements of BS 1363. The height of the live and neutral pins, and the width of the ISOD pin, exceeded maximum permitted tolerance and therefore could not make proper contact with the connections. This could damage the socket, and could cause the pins to wear down over time, potentially resulting in the plug overheating and catching fire. Some of the required markings were not present.
- The product does not meet the requirements of the Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016
- Corrective action
- The listing has been removed by the online marketplace (Amazon).
- We recommend owners stop using this product immediately. Contact the distributor you purchased from to request redress.
- Additional information
- PSD case number: 2307-0138
- Notified by: Local Authority Trading Standards
What to do
- The listing has been removed by the online marketplace (Amazon).
- Product information
- Type
- Electrical appliances and equipment - Wall Lights
Source: Product Safety Alerts, Reports and Recalls (OPSS) — Office for Product Safety and Standards (OPSS)
Source: Office for Product Safety and Standards, GOV.UK. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. EU Safety Radar is an independent information service; the text above presents the official data in the original language — the notice published by the authority is authoritative.
Open the original notice (www.gov.uk) ↗ Official document (PDF) ↗