OPSS Serious Electrical appliances equipment
Product Safety Report: Youngine 3W LED Reading Light sold via Amazon (2502-0071)
Published by Office for Product Safety and Standards (OPSS):
Reason for the recall
- The product presents a serious risk of fire because it lacks sufficient cord anchorage.
Reasonsee the original notice
BrandYoungine
Batch number(s)not stated
Barcodenot stated
Product
Youngine 3W LED Reading Light
- Brand
- Youngine
- Category
- Electrical appliances equipment
- Country of origin
- China
- Type of recall
- Product safety report
- Summary
- Product: Youngine 3W LED Reading Light
- Hazard: The product presents a serious risk of fire because it lacks sufficient cord anchorage.
- Corrective action: The import has been rejected at the border
- Product information
- Type
- Electrical appliances and equipment - LED Reading Light
- Brand
- Youngine
- Amazon identifiers
- FBA15JV2CVTNU000003, X0018VPERR
- Country of Origin
- China
- Product Description
- An LED reading light with white plug. Packaged in a rectangular brown cardboard box.
- Product Report and Image
- Link to product image and PDF
- Hazard
- The product presents a serious risk of fire because it lacks sufficient cord anchorage. This puts additional strain on the terminals when the product is in use. Terminal failure can lead to arcing, overheating and fire.
- The product also presents a risk of electric shock as there is insufficient insulation between the metal parts and the live parts. The product also has incomplete information on proper use and lacks the required markings.
- The product does not meet the requirements of the Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016.
- Corrective action
- The import has been rejected at the border.
- Additional information
- PSD notification number: 2502-0071
- Notified by: Local Authority Trading Standards
What to do
- The import has been rejected at the border
- Product information
- Type
- Electrical appliances and equipment - LED Reading Light
Source: Product Safety Alerts, Reports and Recalls (OPSS) — Office for Product Safety and Standards (OPSS)
Source: Office for Product Safety and Standards, GOV.UK. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. EU Safety Radar is an independent information service; the text above presents the official data in the original language — the notice published by the authority is authoritative.
Open the original notice (www.gov.uk) ↗ Official document (PDF) ↗