OPSS Serious Hand tools
Product Safety Report: Vevor Transmission Jack (2512-0052)
Published by Office for Product Safety and Standards (OPSS):
Reason for the recall
- This product presents a serious risk of injuries as the handbrake mechanism, which is designed to secure and hold the load in place, can accidentally release if bumped or touched.
Reasonsee the original notice
BrandVevor
Batch number(s)not stated
Barcodenot stated
Product
Vevor Transmission Jack
- Brand
- Vevor
- Name / model
- SD0601
- Category
- Hand tools
- Country of origin
- China
- Type of recall
- Product safety report
- Summary
- Product: Vevor Transmission Jack
- Hazard: This product presents a serious risk of injuries as the handbrake mechanism, which is designed to secure and hold the load in place, can accidentally release if bumped or touched.
- Corrective action: The import has been rejected at the border.
- Product information
- Type
- Hand tools/ accessories - Hoists/Winches/Lifts/Jacks (Non-Powered)
- Brand
- Vevor
- Model
- SD0601
- Other Product Identifiers
- MSGWYYYSQCJHTBID9V0, RVG3355-250711-0076-931
- Country of Origin
- China
- Product Description
- An orange manual transmission jack
- Product Report and Image
- Link to product image and PDF
- Hazard
- This product presents a serious risk of injuries as the handbrake mechanism, which is designed to secure and hold the load in place, can accidentally release if bumped or touched. If someone is working underneath a vehicle supported by this jack and inadvertently contacts the brake, the jack may suddenly release, causing the vehicle to drop and potentially crush the person beneath it.
- The product does not meet the requirements of the Supply of Machinery (Safety) Regulations 2008.
- Corrective action
- The import has been rejected at the border.
- Additional information
- PSD notification number: 2512-0052
- Notified by: Local Authority Trading Standards
What to do
- The import has been rejected at the border.
- Product information
- Type
- Hand tools/ accessories - Hoists/Winches/Lifts/Jacks (Non-Powered)
Source: Product Safety Alerts, Reports and Recalls (OPSS) — Office for Product Safety and Standards (OPSS)
Source: Office for Product Safety and Standards, GOV.UK. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. EU Safety Radar is an independent information service; the text above presents the official data in the original language — the notice published by the authority is authoritative.
Open the original notice (www.gov.uk) ↗ Official document (PDF) ↗