OPSS Medium Electrical appliances equipment
Product Safety Report: Svater 50FT Outdoor String Lights LED Mains Powered sold via Amazon (2301-0069)
Published by Office for Product Safety and Standards (OPSS): · Ref. 2301-0069
Reason for the recall
- The product presents a risk of electric shock as when tested there is inadequate protection against electric shock and creepage and clearance distances are insufficient.
Reasonsee the original notice
Brandnot stated
Batch number(s)not stated
Barcodenot stated
Product
Svater 50FT Outdoor String Lights LED Mains Powered sold via Amazon
- Category
- Electrical appliances equipment
- Country of origin
- China
- Type of recall
- Product safety report
- Summary
- Product: Svater 50FT Outdoor String Lights LED Mains Powered sold via Amazon
- Hazard: The product presents a risk of electric shock as when tested there is inadequate protection against electric shock and creepage and clearance distances are insufficient.
- Corrective action: Withdrawal of the product from the market. The listing has been removed by the online marketplace (Amazon).
- Product information
- Type
- Electrical appliances and equipment - Lighting Chain
- ASIN
- B08JG63G7S
- Country of Origin
- China
- Product Description
- A lighting chain consisting of 25 plastic mains powered LED globe lights, 50 feet in length
- Product Report and Image
- Link to Product Image and PDF
- Hazard
- The product presents a medium risk of electric shock as when tested there is inadequate protection against electric shock and creepage and clearance distances are insufficient. The outlet connector fails to comply with contact depth minimum requirement of 3.0 mm, having a depth of only 2.2 mm. The minimum creepage and clearance distances for reinforced insulation between the lamp cap live contact terminal and accessible surface was 2.2 mm, the minimum requirements are 3.0 mm clearance and 5.0 mm creepage based on material PTI (proof tracking index) <600. Furthermore, the product did not contain an IP44 rating for outdoor use.
- The product does not meet the requirements of the Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016.
- Corrective action
- OPSS are requiring the withdrawal of the product from the market.
- The product has been removed by the online marketplace (Amazon).
- Additional information
- PSD case number: 2301-0069
- Notified by: Office for Product Safety and Standards
What to do
- Withdrawal of the product from the market. The listing has been removed by the online marketplace (Amazon).
- Product information
- Type
- Electrical appliances and equipment - Lighting Chain
- ASIN
- B08JG63G7S
Source: Product Safety Alerts, Reports and Recalls (OPSS) — Office for Product Safety and Standards (OPSS)
Source: Office for Product Safety and Standards, GOV.UK. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. EU Safety Radar is an independent information service; the text above presents the official data in the original language — the notice published by the authority is authoritative.
Open the original notice (www.gov.uk) ↗ Official document (PDF) ↗