Reason for the recall
- The product presents a serious chemical risk as it contains 1,710 mg/kg of Citral, which is higher than the safe limit for this ingredient in cosmetics.
Reasonsee the original notice
BrandR&R Skincare
Batch number(s)not stated
Barcodenot stated
Product
R&R Luxury Limited Skincare Shea Hand Cream — R&R Skincare
- Brand
- R&R Skincare
- Category
- Cosmetics
- Country of origin
- Ghana
- Type of recall
- Product safety report
- Summary
- Product: R&R Luxury Limited Skincare Shea Hand Cream
- Hazard: The product presents a serious chemical risk as it contains 1,710 mg/kg of Citral, which is higher than the safe limit for this ingredient in cosmetics.
- Corrective action: The import has been rejected at the border.
- Product information
- Type
- Cosmetics - Hand Cream
- Brand
- R&R Skincare
- Country of Origin
- Ghana
- Product Description
- Shea butter hand cream in a green tube, 70g
- Product Report and Image
- Link to product image and PDF
- Hazard
- The product presents a serious chemical risk as it contains 1,710 mg/kg of Citral which is higher than the safe limit for this ingredient in cosmetics.
- Permitted fragrance allergens were detected in the product at a concentration above the limit of quantification, without being indicated on the product’s label. This includes: Citral, Eugenol, Geraniol, Isoeugenol, Limonene and Linalool. According to Cosmetic Products Enforcement Regulations 2013, the presence of these allergenic substances must be indicated in the ingredients list of a leave-on product when the concentration of the substance exceeds 0.001% (10 mg/kg).
- The product does not meet the requirements of Regulation 1223/2009 or the Cosmetic Products Enforcement Regulations 2013.
- Corrective action
- The import has been rejected at the border.
- Additional information
- PSD case number: 2501-0072
- Notified by: Local Authority Trading Standards
What to do
- The import has been rejected at the border.
- Product information
- Type
- Cosmetics - Hand Cream
Source: Product Safety Alerts, Reports and Recalls (OPSS) — Office for Product Safety and Standards (OPSS)
Source: Office for Product Safety and Standards, GOV.UK. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. EU Safety Radar is an independent information service; the text above presents the official data in the original language — the notice published by the authority is authoritative.
Open the original notice (www.gov.uk) ↗ Official document (PDF) ↗