Reason for the recall
- This product presents a serious chemical risk as it contains clobetasol propionate which is prohibited in cosmetic products
Reasonsee the original notice
Brandnot stated
Batch number(s)not stated
Barcodenot stated
Product
Pharmaderm Skinclear Multi Vitamin Cream
- Category
- Cosmetics
- Country of origin
- Ghana
- Type of recall
- Product safety report
- Summary
- Product: Pharmaderm Skinclear Multi Vitamin Cream
- Hazard: This product presents a serious chemical risk as it contains clobetasol propionate which is prohibited in cosmetic products
- Corrective action: The import has been rejected at the border and destroyed.
- Product information
- Type
- Cosmetics - Cream
- Product Identifiers
- The container was marked, Skin Clear Technology, By Pharmaderm, Nouvelle Parfumerie, Gandour, Complexe Solution, Tribamine, Multi Vitamin, e 35 ml - 1.2 fl.oz., F:11/23 E:11/26 1075404, 12M.
- Country of Origin
- Ghana
- Product Description
- Small plastic pot of orange cream.
- Product Report and Image
- Link to Product Image and PDF
- Hazard
- The product presents a serious chemical risk as following analysis the cream was found to contain 72.5mg/kg (0.07%) clobetasol propionate. Glucocorticoids (Corticosteroids), including clobetasol propionate, are prohibited in cosmetic products as exposure to it could cause skin irritation and may damage the endocrine system.
- Improvements are also required to marking and labelling.
- The product does not meet the requirements of Regulation (EC) 1223/2009 or the Cosmetic Products Enforcement Regulations 2013.
- Corrective action
- The import has been rejected at the border and destroyed.
- Additional information
- PSD case number: 2406-0049b
- Notified by: Local Authority Trading Standards
What to do
- The import has been rejected at the border and destroyed.
- Product information
- Type
- Cosmetics - Cream
- Product Identifiers
- The container was marked, Skin Clear Technology, By Pharmaderm, Nouvelle Parfumerie, Gandour, Complexe Solution, Tribamine, Multi Vitamin, e 35 ml - 1.2 fl.oz., F:11/23 E:11/26 1075404, 12M.
Source: Product Safety Alerts, Reports and Recalls (OPSS) — Office for Product Safety and Standards (OPSS)
Source: Office for Product Safety and Standards, GOV.UK. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. EU Safety Radar is an independent information service; the text above presents the official data in the original language — the notice published by the authority is authoritative.
Open the original notice (www.gov.uk) ↗ Official document (PDF) ↗