Reason for the recall
- The product presents a serious chemical risk as it contains hydroquinone and clobetasol propionate, which are prohibited in cosmetic products.
Reasonsee the original notice
Brandnot stated
Batch number(s)not stated
Barcodenot stated
Product
Glow+ Plus Body Lotion
- Category
- Cosmetics
- Country of origin
- Nigeria
- Type of recall
- Product safety report
- Summary
- Product: Glow+ Plus Body Lotion
- Hazard: The product presents a serious chemical risk as it contains hydroquinone and clobetasol propionate, which are prohibited in cosmetic products.
- Corrective action: The import has been rejected at the border.
- Product information
- Type
- Cosmetics, personal care and grooming - Bleaching/Lightening Products
- Product Name
- Glow+ Plus Body Lotion
- Country of Origin
- Nigeria
- Product Description
- White plastic bottle with gold-coloured pump dispenser containing a white cream. The bottle was marked “Glow + Body Lotion, 300ml.”
- Product Report and Image
- Link to product image and PDF
- Hazard
- The product presents a serious chemical risk as it has been found to contain 2.7% w/w hydroquinone. Hydroquinone is prohibited in cosmetic products as it is a skin sensitiser and may cause allergic contact dermatitis.
- The product also contains 73.8 mg/kg clobetasol propionate. Clobetasol propionate is a Glucocorticoid (Corticosteroid) which is prohibited in cosmetic products as exposure to it could cause skin irritation and may damage the endocrine system.
- The product does not meet the requirements of Regulation (EC) 1223/2009 (‘The Cosmetics Regulation’).
- Corrective action
- The import has been rejected at the border.
- Owners are advised to stop using the product immediately, and contact the distributor purchased from to request redress.
- Additional information
- PSD notification number: 2508-0200d
- Notified by: Local Authority Trading Standards
What to do
- The import has been rejected at the border.
- Product information
- Type
- Cosmetics, personal care and grooming - Bleaching/Lightening Products
- Product Name
- Glow+ Plus Body Lotion
Source: Product Safety Alerts, Reports and Recalls (OPSS) — Office for Product Safety and Standards (OPSS)
Source: Office for Product Safety and Standards, GOV.UK. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. EU Safety Radar is an independent information service; the text above presents the official data in the original language — the notice published by the authority is authoritative.
Open the original notice (www.gov.uk) ↗ Official document (PDF) ↗