Reason for the recall
- The product presents a serious chemical risk as following analysis the cream was found to contain 2.9 w/w hydroquinone, which is prohibited in cosmetic products.
Reasonsee the original notice
Brandnot stated
Batch number(s)not stated
Barcode6152000300384
Product
Caring Chemistry Body Treat Maxitoner
- Barcode
- 6152000300384
- Category
- Cosmetics
- Country of origin
- Nigeria
- Type of recall
- Product safety report
- Product: Caring Chemistry Body Treat Maxitoner
- Hazard: The product presents a serious chemical risk as following analysis the cream was found to contain 2.9 w/w hydroquinone, which is prohibited in cosmetic products.
- Corrective action: Withdrawal of the product from the market.
- Product information
- Type
- Cosmetics – Skin lightening cream
- Barcode
- 6152000300384
- Country of Origin
- Nigeria
- Product Description
- Skin lightening cream supplied in a 275g orange and white pot
- Product Report and Image
- Link to product image and PDF
- Hazard
- The product presents a serious chemical risk as following analysis the cream was found to contain 2.9 w/w hydroquinone, which is prohibited in this type of product as it is a skin sensitiser and may cause allergic contact dermatitis.
- The product does not meet the requirements of Regulation (EC) 1223/2009 or the Cosmetic Products Enforcement Regulations 2013.
- Corrective action
- Withdrawal of the product from the market.
- Additional information
- PSD case number: 2312-0045
- Notified by: Local Authority Trading Standards
What to do
- Withdrawal of the product from the market.
- Product information
- Type
- Cosmetics – Skin lightening cream
Source: Product Safety Alerts, Reports and Recalls (OPSS) — Office for Product Safety and Standards (OPSS)
Source: Office for Product Safety and Standards, GOV.UK. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. EU Safety Radar is an independent information service; the text above presents the official data in the original language — the notice published by the authority is authoritative.
Open the original notice (www.gov.uk) ↗ Official document (PDF) ↗