Reason for the recall
- The product presents a high risk of fire as the conductor wire has only been soldered directly to component tags, which can lead to overheating.
Reasonsee the original notice
BrandAPROTII
Batch number(s)not stated
Barcodenot stated
Product
- Summary
- Product: APROTII Lithium Chainsaw
- Hazard: The product presents a high risk of fire as the conductor wire has only been soldered directly to component tags, which can lead to overheating.
- Corrective action: The import has been rejected at the border and destroyed. The listing has been removed by the online marketplace (Amazon).
- Product information
- Type
- Machinery – Lithium Chainsaw
- Brand
- APROTII
- Model Number
- YL-82
- Model number on packaging
- APR900
- Amazon product identifiers
- X001Y56SX1, FBA15HTZK7CCU000036
- SKU
- 16UK-THLZH1039
- Country of Origin
- China
- Product description
- A mini, lithium battery-powered chainsaw with a single-hand handle for use. The product also includes a battery charger for the two 21V Li-ion battery packs to be attached to the product itself.
- Product Report and Image
- Link to Product Image and PDF
- Hazard
- The product presents a high risk of fire as the conductor wire has only been soldered directly to component tags and not to the solder tag holes provided. Therefore, this could be loosened during use by the vibrations or shock, causing the wires to touch other connections that draw high current. This could cause the chainsaw to either explode or catch fire, giving the user burns.
- The product does not meet the requirements of the Supply of Machinery (Safety) Regulations 2008.
- Corrective action
- The import has been rejected at the border and destroyed. The listing has been removed by the online marketplace (Amazon).
- Additional information
- PSD case number: 2405-0096
- Notified by: Local Authority Trading Standards
What to do
- The import has been rejected at the border and destroyed. The listing has been removed by the online marketplace (Amazon).
- Product information
- Type
- Machinery – Lithium Chainsaw
Source: Product Safety Alerts, Reports and Recalls (OPSS) — Office for Product Safety and Standards (OPSS)
Source: Office for Product Safety and Standards, GOV.UK. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. EU Safety Radar is an independent information service; the text above presents the official data in the original language — the notice published by the authority is authoritative.
Open the original notice (www.gov.uk) ↗ Official document (PDF) ↗