OPSS Low Electrical appliances equipment
Product Recall: IKEA ASKSTORM 40W USB charger (dark grey) (2401-0040)
Published by Office for Product Safety and Standards (OPSS): · Ref. 2401-0040
Reason for the recall
- The product presents a risk of electric shock as the power cable may get damaged by being bent back and forth over a long period of use, or broken after being wrapped around the charger.
Reasonsee the original notice
BrandIKEA
Batch number(s)not stated
Barcodenot stated
Product
IKEA ASKSTORM 40W USB charger (dark grey)
- Brand
- IKEA
- Name / model
- number
- Category
- Electrical appliances equipment
- Country of origin
- China
- Type of recall
- Product recall
- Summary
- Product: IKEA ASKSTORM 40W USB charger (dark grey)
- Hazard: The product presents a risk of electric shock as the power cable may get damaged by being bent back and forth over a long period of use, or broken after being wrapped around the charger.
- Corrective action: Recall of the product from end users.
- Product information
- Type
- Electrical appliances and equipment - Mains powered USB charging hub
- Brand
- IKEA
- IKEA Product code
- 60461197
- Model number
- ICPSW5-40-1
- Country of Origin
- China
- Product Description
- Mains powered USB charging hub in dark grey
- Product Report
- Link to Product Image and PDF
- Hazard
- The product presents a risk of electric shock as the power cable may get damaged by being bent back and forth over a long period of use, or broken after being wrapped around the charger. The damaged cable may lead to thermal burns and electric shock.
- The product does not meet the requirements of the Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016.
- Corrective action
- Recall of the product from end users. For more information, please see the IKEA recall notice at: https://www.ikea.com/gb/en/customer-service/product-support/recalls/askstorm-40w-usb-charger-dark-grey-pub562c4a60.
- Additional information
- PSD case number: 2401-0040
- Notified by: Local Authority Trading Standards
What to do
- Recall of the product from end users.
- Product information
- Type
- Electrical appliances and equipment - Mains powered USB charging hub
Source: Product Safety Alerts, Reports and Recalls (OPSS) — Office for Product Safety and Standards (OPSS)
Source: Office for Product Safety and Standards, GOV.UK. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. EU Safety Radar is an independent information service; the text above presents the official data in the original language — the notice published by the authority is authoritative.
Open the original notice (www.gov.uk) ↗ Official document (PDF) ↗